Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée


The Constitution of 2 June 1972, revised on 18 January 1996, makes provision for a parliament composed of two chambers: the National Assembly and the Senate.


The Senate represents the country's decentralised communities.


Each region is represented in the Senate by ten senators, of whom seven are elected indirectly by universal suffrage on a regional basis and three are appointed by the President of the Republic (term of office: 5 years).


The Senate is not yet functioning because local decentralisation has yet to be implemented.