Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée


The National Assembly modified the Constitution on the 31st December 2002.

The institution of the two-chamber system appears in the amendments that were introduced.

The Senate shall be composed of two-thirds of personalities elected by the representatives of local authorities and one-third of personalities appointed by the President of the Republic.

The term of office for senators shall be 5 years.

The Senate shall only have an advisory role, giving advice on private and public drafts before the voting by the National Assembly as a last resort.