Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée

THE SENATE OF MALAWI





On January 11th 2001, the Parliament of Malawi voted in favour of the suppression of the Senate, whereas traditional chiefs and other sectors of society (the Church, trade unions and human rights protection organisations) were against this decision.

This assembly - established by the 1994 Constitution - had never been set up.


I. - COMPOSITION

80 senators, of whom :

- 48 elected in the districts ;

- 32 elected by their peers.

II. - ELECTORAL SYSTEM

A - Voting system

1) In each of the 24 districts :

a) a senator shall be elected by secret ballot, within the 30 days following the local elections, among people registered on the district electoral lists by the district council ;

b) a senator shall be elected by secret ballot, within the 30 days following the local elections, among the chiefs registered on the district electoral lists, by a college composed of all the chiefs of the district.

2) 32 senators shall be elected with a 2/3 majority by all the senators, following the proposals of a committee of Nomination, provided always that it is made up of representatives of different sectors of society (women, handicapped people, health, education sectors, agriculture, commerce, and trade unions), representatives of society (chosen for their expertise in national social, cultural or technological development matters), and representatives of the main religions of Malawi.

The committee of Nomination of the Senate shall be set up within the 45 days following the local elections. It comprises the President of the National Assembly, the Ombudsman, and 7 senators, elected in the districts, appointed by the National Assembly.

B - Minimum age for eligibility : 35 years.

Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée

LE SENAT DU MALAWI


Le Parlement malawite a voté, le 11 janvier 2001, la suppression du Sénat contre l'avis des chefs traditionnels et de certains secteurs de la société (Église, organisations syndicales et de défense des droits de l'homme).

Cette assemblée -instituée par la Constitution de 1994- n'avait jamais été mise en place.

I.- COMPOSITION DU SÉNAT

80 membres dont :

- 48 sénateurs élus dans les districts ;

- 32 sénateurs élus par leurs pairs.

II.- RÉGIME ÉLECTORAL

A - Mode d'élection

1) Dans chacun des 24 districts :

a) un sénateur est élu au scrutin secret, dans le délai de 30 jours suivant les élections locales, parmi les personnes inscrites sur les listes électorales du district par le conseil de district ;

b) un sénateur est élu au scrutin secret, dans le délai de 30 jours suivant les élections locales, parmi les chefs inscrits sur les listes électorales du district, par un collège composé de tous les chefs de district.

2) 32 sénateurs sont élus à la majorité des 2/3 par l'ensemble des sénateurs, sur la base des propositions d'une commission de Nomination, sous la réserve qu'y figurent des représentants des différents groupes d'intérêt (femmes, handicapés, santé, éducation, agriculture, commerce, syndicats), des représentants de la société (pour leurs compétences en matière sociale, culturelle ou de développement technologique de la Nation), des représentants des principales religions du Malawi.

La commission de Nomination du Sénat est constituée dans le délai de 45 jours suivant les élections locales. Elle est composée du Président de l'Assemblée nationale, de l'Ombudsman, de 7 sénateurs élus dans les districts, nommés par l'Assemblée nationale.

B - Age minimum d'éligibilité : 35 ans.