Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée

SAINT LUCIA SENATE

senat

I - COMPOSITION

 

11 senators appointed by the Governor General; 6 appointments on the advice of the prime minister, 3 appointments on the advice of the leader of the opposition, and 2 by the advice of the Governor General.

 

II - SYSTEM OF APPOINTMENT

 

Term of office : 5 years.

 

Most recent appointment date : 5 January 2012

 

Criteria for eligibility : 21 years of age, a citizen of the British Commonwealth, residence in Saint Lucia for 5 years prior to appointment.

 

Criteria for ineligibility : allegiance to a foreign State, undischarged bankruptcy, mental illness, death sentence, prison sentence of more than one year.

 

Criteria for incompatibility : senior civil servants, minister of religion (on the other hand, ministers and parliamentary secretaries (secretaries of State) are selected from the senators and members of the lower house. However, neither the president nor the vice-president of either house of parliament (elected by them during the first session following a general election) may be members of the government).

 

Disputes regarding the validity of the appointment of senators fall within the competence of the Supreme Court.

 

III - ORGANISATION OF SESSIONS

 

A - The parliament may not fail to sit for more than 12 consecutive months .

 

B - LEGAL SESSION

 

The Senate is legally in session at the most one month following parliamentary elections.

 

C - ADJOURNMENT

 

The sitting must be adjourned if a quorum of 6 members is not present.

 

IV - RELATIONS WITH THE OTHER CHAMBER

AND THE EXECUTIVE

 

The Saint Lucia parliament comprises Her Majesty the Queen of England, the Senate and the lower house.

 

A - LEGISLATIVE POWERS

 

Limitations to the legislative powers of the Senate.

 

1) The right to propose legislation

 

The members of parliament have the right to propose legislation.

 

But the powers of both chambers of parliament are limited in budgetary and financial matters in respect of any reform which, in the judgement of the president of the sitting, would lead to a change in fiscal law (other than a reduction of taxes), to an increase in public expenditure, to a reduction in public resources, or would relate to the public debt.

 

2) Right of amendment

 

Members of parliament have the right of amendment but this power is limited in budgetary and financial matters in respect of any amendment which, in the judgement of the president of the sitting, would lead to a change in fiscal law (other than a reduction of taxes), to an increase in public expenditure, to a reduction in public resources, or would relate to the public debt.

 

3) Legislative procedure

 

Draft legislation may be introduced in either of the chambers of parliament, with the exception of finance bills, which are introduced in the lower house.

 

The president of the sitting does not take part in the vote, except when a casting vote is necessary.

 

a) Normal procedure

 

A bill is deemed rejected by the Senate if its amendments are not adopted by the lower house.

 

Legislative reform is passed regardless of Senate opposition if the bill has been adopted by the lower house in two successive sessions and rejected by the Senate in each of these sessions, provided that the bill has been sent to the Senate at least one month before the end of the session, and that a period of six months has elapsed between each adoption of the bill by the lower house.

 

However, before the second reading of the bill by the Senate, the lower house may suggest amendments to the Senate which, if adopted by it, will be treated as Senate amendments approved by the lower house.

 

b) Special measures in budgetary matters

 

Special time conditions are stipulated for the adoption of finance bills by the Senate: if a bill adopted by the lower house and sent to the Senate at least one month before the end of the session has not been adopted by it without amendment, within one month of its being sent, it is presented to the Governor General for signature, provided the lower house has not decided otherwise.

 

B - SUPERVISORY POWERS

 

The Cabinet (composed of the Prime Minister and other Ministers) has collective responsibility before parliament (but only the lower house has the right to vote on a motion of censure).

 

C - DISSOLUTION AND PROROGATION

 

1) Dissolution

 

The Governor General may, at any time, dissolve parliament with the Prime Minister's consent.

 

2) Prorogation

 

The Governor General may, at any time, prorogue the mandate of the parliament.

 

In the event of war, prorogation of the legislature is possible for periods of twelve months renewable (for a total of five years at most)

 

V.- SPECIAL MEASURES

 

A - REVISION OF THE CONSTITUTION

 

The vote, on the final reading, on amendments to the Constitution (and on those to legislation relating to the Supreme Court) must obtain a three quarters or two thirds majority of the members of each assembly, depending on the provisions forming the subject of the amendment. The president of the session does not have the right to a casting vote in the event of the vote being equal.

 

If a proposed constitutional amendment has been rejected by the Senate on two successive occasions, it can only be confirmed by referendum (this measure applies only for amendments to some of the provisions of the Constitution).

 

B - STATE OF EMERGENCY

 

A State of Emergency is declared by The Governor General.

 

Declaration of a State of Emergency shall cease to be effective if it has not been approved by the Senate and the lower house :

 

- within a period of 7 days of publication when parliament is in session,

 

- within a period of 21 days in other cases.

 

C - PARLIAMENTARY COMMISSIONER

 

The Parliamentary Commissioner of Saint Lucia is an official of the parliament, concentrating exclusively on this task, appointed by the Governor General after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in the lower house.

 

He is responsible for investigating any decision or action of the government or of the public authorities, either on an individual complaint, or on referral by a senator or by a member of the lower house.

 

He has the power to call witnesses, to investigate written evidence and on site, on condition that there is no interference with judicial proceedings.

 

The following matters are excluded from his powers of investigation:

 

- external relations,

 

- if there is a judicial investigation on the same subject,

 

- the Governor General's Right of Reprieve,

 

- armed forces,

 

- appointment, remuneration and career of public servants.

Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée

SAINTE-LUCIE : LE SENAT



I - COMPOSITION

11 sénateurs nommés par le Gouverneur général dont :

    - 6 sur la recommandation du Premier ministre
    - 3 sur la recommandation du leader de l'opposition
    - 2 après consultation des représentants religieux, économiques ou sociaux ou des associations au sein desquelles le Gouverneur général estime que des sénateurs doivent être désignés.

II - REGIME DE NOMINATION

Durée du mandat : 5 ans.

Dernier renouvellement : 5 janvier 2012

Éligibilité : 21 ans, citoyen du Commonwealth britannique, résidence à Sainte-Lucie pendant 5 ans avant le scrutin.

Inéligibilité : allégeance à un Etat étranger, faillite non réhabilitée, maladie mentale, peine de mort, peine de prison de plus d'un an.

Incompatibilités : hauts fonctionnaires, ministre du culte (en revanche, les ministres et les secrétaires parlementaires (secrétaires d'Etat) sont choisis parmi les sénateurs et les membres de la Chambre de l'Assemblée. Ni le Président ni le Vice-président des assemblées parlementaires (élus par elles lors de leur première séance à la suite des élections générales) ne doivent toutefois être membres du Gouvernement).

Le contentieux de la validité de la désignation des sénateurs relève de la Cour suprême.

III - REGIME DES SESSIONS

A - Le Parlement ne peut cesser de siéger plus de 12 mois consécutifs .

B - SESSION DE DROIT

Le Sénat siège de droit au plus un mois après des élections parlementaires.

C - AJOURNEMENT

La séance doit s'ajourner si un quorum de 6 membres n'est pas réuni.

IV - RAPPORTS AVEC L'AUTRE CHAMBRE ET LE POUVOIR EXECUTIF

Le Parlement de Sainte-Lucie est constitué de Sa Majesté la Reine d'Angleterre, du Sénat et de la Chambre de l'Assemblée.

A - POUVOIR LEGISLATIF

Limitations des pouvoirs du Sénat en matière législative.

1) Initiative législative

Les membres du Parlement ont le droit d'initiative législative.

Mais les pouvoirs des deux chambres du Parlement sont limités en matière budgétaire et financière pour toute réforme qui, selon l'appréciation du président de séance, tendrait à une modification du droit fiscal (autres qu'une réduction des impôts), à une augmentation des charges publiques, à une diminution des ressources publiques, ou serait relative à la dette publique.

2) Droit d'amendement

Les membres du Parlement ont le droit d'amendement mais ce pouvoir est limité en matière budgétaire et financière pour tout amendement qui, selon l'appréciation du président de séance, tendrait à une modification du droit fiscal (autres qu'une réduction des impôts), à une augmentation des charges publiques, à une diminution des ressources publiques, ou serait relatif à la dette publique.

3) Procédure législative

Les projets de loi peuvent être déposés auprès de l'une ou l'autre des deux chambres du Parlement, à l'exception des projets de loi de finances, lesquels sont déposés auprès de la Chambre de l'Assemblée.

Le président de séance ne prend pas part au vote, sauf en cas d'égalité des voix.

a) Procédure ordinaire

Un texte est réputé rejeté par le Sénat si ses amendements ne sont pas adoptés par la Chambre de l'Assemblée.

Il est passé outre l'opposition du Sénat à une réforme législative si le texte a été adopté par la Chambre de l'Assemblée lors de deux sessions successives et repoussé par le Sénat à chacune de ces sessions, à condition que le projet ait été transmis au Sénat au moins un mois avant la fin de la session, et qu'un délai de six mois se soit écoulé entre chacune des adoptions du texte par la Chambre de l'Assemblée.

Toutefois, avant la seconde lecture du texte par le Sénat, la Chambre de l'Assemblée peut suggérer à ce dernier des amendements qui, s'ils sont adoptés par lui, seront considérés comme amendements du Sénat approuvés par la Chambre de l'Assemblée.

b) Dispositions particulières en matière budgétaire

Des conditions particulières de délai sont fixées pour l'adoption du projet de loi de finances par le Sénat : si le projet adopté par la Chambre de l'Assemblée et transmis au Sénat au moins un mois avant la fin de la session n'a pas été adopté par celui-ci, sans amendement, dans le délai d'un mois à compter de sa transmission, il est présenté à la signature du Gouverneur général, à moins que la Chambre de l'Assemblée n'en décide autrement.

B - POUVOIR DE CONTRÔLE

Le Cabinet (composé du Premier ministre et d'autres ministres) est collectivement responsable devant le Parlement (mais le vote d'une motion de censure est réservé à la Chambre de l'Assemblée).

C - DISSOLUTION ET PROROGATION

1) Dissolution

Le Gouverneur général peut, à tout moment, dissoudre le Parlement avec l' accord du Premier ministre.

2) Prorogation

Le Gouverneur général peut, à tout moment, proroger le mandat du Parlement.

En cas de guerre, la prorogation de la législature est possible par périodes de douze mois renouvelables (cinq ans au plus au total)

V.- DISPOSITIONS PARTICULIERES

A - RÉVISION DE LA CONSTITUTION

Le vote, en lecture finale, des révisions de la Constitution (ainsi que celui des lois relatives à la Cour suprême) doit être acquis à une majorité des trois quarts ou des deux tiers des membres de chaque assemblée, en fonction des dispositions faisant l'objet de la révision. Le président de séance n'a pas de droit de vote décisif en cas d'égalité des suffrages.

Si un projet de révision constitutionnelle a été repoussé deux fois de suite par le Sénat, il ne peut être validé que par référendum (cette disposition s'applique seulement pour la révision de certaines des dispositions de la Constitution).

B - ETAT D'URGENCE

L'état d'urgence est déclaré par le Gouverneur général.

La déclaration de l'état d'urgence cesse de produire ses effets si elle n'a pas été approuvée par le Sénat et la Chambre de l'Assemblée :

    - dans un délai de 7 jours à compter de sa publication quand le Parlement est en session,
    - dans un délai de 21 jours dans les autres cas.

C - COMMISSAIRE PARLEMENTAIRE

Le Commissaire Parlementaire de Sainte-Lucie est un fonctionnaire du Parlement, consacré exclusivement à cette mission, nommé par le Gouverneur général après consultation du Premier ministre et du Chef de l'opposition à la Chambre de l'Assemblée.

Il est chargé d'enquêter sur toute décision ou toute action du Gouvernement ou des pouvoirs publics, soit sur plainte individuelle, soit sur saisine d'un sénateur ou d'un membre de la Chambre de l'Assemblée.

Il a le pouvoir de convoquer des témoins, d'enquêter sur pièce et sur place, à condition de ne pas interférer avec des poursuites judiciaires.

Sont exclues de ses pouvoirs d'enquête les matières suivantes :

    - relations extérieures,
    - si enquête judiciaire sur le même sujet,
    - droit de Grâce du Gouverneur général,
    - forces armées,
    - nomination, rémunération et carrière des agents publics.

Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2013