Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée

 

THE SHURA COUNCIL OF YEMEN


On November 19th 2000, the Yemen parliament (the Chamber of Representatives) passed several amendments to the Constitution submitted by the President of the Republic, which were prepared at his request by the Consultative Chamber (Shura Council).

One of these amendments provided for enlargement of today's Consultative Chamber -created in 1994 and comprising 59 members nominated by the President of the Republic- and strengthening of its legislative powers.

In a referendum held on February 20th 2001, the draft was passed.

I - COMPOSITION

The Choura council is composed of 111 members, appointed by Presidential decree. Appointees may be members neither of the Chamber of Representatives nor of the local assemblies.

Appointees must be at least forty years of age.

Most recent appointments : April 28 th 2001.

II - RESPONSIBILITIES

In addition to its consultative powers and the action of its Bureau (jointly with the Chamber of Representatives) in approving the list of candidates for the presidential election, the agreement of the Council is to be required from now on, obtained in the course of a joint meeting with the Chamber of Representatives called by the President of the Republic, for the adoption of any law on implementation of the socio-economic plan, or on issues connected with defence, border, alliances and peace issues, and on any subject submitted to the joint meeting by the President.

Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation

Recherche Recherche avancée

YEMEN : Majlis Alshoora - LE CONSEIL DE LA CHOURA DU YÉMEN


Elements de contexte :

Le 19 novembre 2000, le Parlement yéménite -la Chambre des représentants- a approuvé plusieurs amendements à la Constitution proposés par le Président de la République et préparés à sa demande par le Conseil consultatif (Conseil de la Choura).

L'un de ces amendements prévoit l'élargissement de l'actuel Conseil consultatif de la Choura -créé en 1994 et comprenant 59 membres nommés par le Président de la République-, et le renforcement de ses pouvoirs législatifs.

Le projet de révision constitutionnelle a été adopté par référendum le 20 février 2001.

I - COMPOSITION

Le Conseil de la Choura est composé de 111 membres nommés par décret du Président de la République. Les personnes désignées ne devront être membres ni de la Chambre des représentants, ni des assemblées locales.

Elles devront être âgées d'au moins 40 ans.

La dernière nomination remonte au 28 avril 2011.

II - COMPÉTENCES

Outre ses pouvoirs consultatifs et l'intervention de son Bureau (conjointe avec celui de la Chambre des représentants) pour approuver la liste des candidats à l'élection présidentielle, l'accord du Conseil serait désormais requis, au cours d'une réunion commune avec la Chambre des représentants, convoquée par le Président de la République, pour l'adoption de toute loi relative à la mise en oeuvre du plan socio-économique ou ayant trait aux questions de défense, des frontières, des alliances et de la paix ainsi que de toute matière soumise à la réunion commune par le Président.

Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2013